# Establishing Berkeley's signature initiatives working group

Henry Brady, Co-Chair
Dean, Goldman School of Public Policy
Barbara Spackman, Co-Chair
Vice Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate
Professor of Italian Studies and Comparative Literature
Justin Brashares
Professor of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Kenneth Goldberg
Professor of Industrial Engineering and Operations Research
Frances Hellman
Dean of the Physical Sciences
Scar of the Frysical Sciences
Hillary Hoynes
Professor of Economics and Public Policy
Leslea Hlusko
Associate Professor of Integrative Biology
David Lieberman
Professor of Law
Leti Light
Executive Director, Strategic Initiatives
University Development & Alumni Relations
Shreyas Patankar
Campus Affairs Vice President, Graduate Assembly
Graduate Student, Physics

Janelle Scott
Associate Professor of Education
Costos Spanos
Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science
Laura D'Andrea Tyson
Professor of Economics and Business Administration
Peidong Yang
Professor of Chemistry
Ex-Officio Members:
Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate
Richard Lyons, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Dean, Haas School of Business
Oscar Dubon, Member, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Vice Chancellor of Equity and Inclusion
Staff:
Verna Bowie Project Policy Analyst, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research

# Creating a transformative student experience working group

Fiona Doyle, Co-Chair
Vice Provost for Graduate Studies and Dean of the Graduate Division
Genaro Padilla, Co-Chair
Professor, Department of English
Max Auffhammer
Associate Dean, College of Natural Resources
Serena Chen
Professor of Psychology
Juniperangelica Cordova
Vice Chair, Government and Internal Affairs Committee, ASUC
Joseph Greenwell
Associate Vice Chancellor and Dean of Students
Susan Hagstrom
Director of Undergraduate Advising
College of Environmental Design
Carla Hesse
Executive Dean, College of Letters and Science
Jonah Levy
Associate Professor of Political Science
Jamie Lincoff
Internal Vice President, Graduate Assembly
Graduate student, Chemistry

Fabrizio Mejia
Assistant Vice Chancellor — Student Equity and Success
Division of Equity and Inclusion
Erica Rosenblum
Assistant Professor of Environmental Science, Policy, and Management
Ula Taylor
Professor and Chair, African American Studies
Ex-Officio Members:
Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate
Richard Lyons, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Dean, Haas School of Business
Oscar Dubon, Member, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Vice Chancellor of Equity and Inclusion
Staff: Jenny Kwon Special Projects Administrator, Office of the Chancellor

# Identifying optimal enrollment levels working group

Ignacio Navarrete, Co-Chair, Enrollment Working Group
Chair, Academic Senate Committee on Admissions, Enrollment, and Preparatory Education
Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
Jennifer Wolch, Co-Chair, Enrollment Working Group
Dean, College of Environmental Design
Bob Jacobsen
Dean of Undergraduate Studies, College of Letters and Science
Amy Jarich
Assistant Vice Chancellor and Director of Admissions
George Johnson
Member, Academic Senate Undergraduate Council
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
Philip Kamisky
Executive Associate Dean and Associate Dean of Students, College of Engineering
Cathy Koshland
Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education
AnnaLee Saxenian
Dean, School of Information
Philip Stark  Professor of Statistics
Rigel Robinson
Undergraduate student
ondergraduate statem

Catherine Choy
Professor of Asian American Studies
Denise Herd
Professor of Behavioral Sciences, School of Public Health
Ex-Officio Members:
Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate
Richard Lyons, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Dean, Haas School of Business
Oscar Dubon, Member, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Vice Chancellor of Equity and Inclusion
Staff:
Les <sup>li</sup> e Harlson
Project Manager, Office of the Vice Chancellor for Undergraduate Education

# Building a strong financial strategy working group

Benjamin Hermalin, Co-Chair
Vice Provost for the Faculty
Jennifer Johnson-Hanks, Co-Chair
Chair, Academic Senate Committee on Academic Planning and Resource Allocation
Professor of Demography
Jon Bain-Chekal
Executive Director, Financial Planning and Analysis
Office of the CFO
Jill Banfield
Professor of Earth and Planetary Science
Holly Doremus
Professor of Law
Jeff MacKie-Mason
University Librarian
Michelle McClellan
AVC – Constituent Programs
University Development and Alumni Relations
Joel Moore
Professor of Physics
David Schaffer
Professor of Chemical Engineering
Andrew Schwartz
Graduate Student, Haas School of Business

Chris Stanich
Associate Vice Chancellor – Financial Planning and Analysis
John MacFarlane
Professor of Philosophy
Diana Wu
Dean and Executive Director
University Extension
Ex-Officio Members:
Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate
Richard Lyons, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Dean, Haas School of Business
Oscar Dubon, Member, Strategic Planning Steering Committee
Vice Chancellor of Equity and Inclusion
Staff: Andrea Lambert
Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Executive Vice Chancellor and Provost
Deputy Chief of Staff, Office of the Executive vice Chancellor and Provost

### Strategic Planning Steering Committee

### January 2018

Lisa Alvarez-Cohen, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate

Richard Lyons, Co-Chair, Strategic Planning Steering Committee

Dean, Haas School of Business

Henry Brady, Co-Chair, Grand Challenges Working Group Dean, Goldman School of Public Policy

Fiona Doyle, Co-Chair, Student Experience Working Group
Vice Provost for Graduate Studies and Dean of the Graduate Division

Oscar Dubon, Member at Large
Vice Chancellor of Equity and Inclusion

Benjamin Hermalin, Co-Chair, Financial Model Working Group Vice Provost for the Faculty

Jennifer Johnson-Hanks, Co-Chair, Financial Model Working Group

Chair, Academic Senate Committee on Academic Planning and Resource Allocation

Ignacio Navarrete, Co-Chair, Enrollment Working Group

Chair, Academic Senate Committee on Admissions, Enrollment, and Preparatory Education

Genaro Padilla, Co-Chair, Student Experience Working Group Professor, Department of English

Barbara Spackman, Co-Chair, Grand Challenges Working Group Vice Chair, Berkeley Division of the Academic Senate

Jennifer Wolch, Co-Chair, Enrollment Working Group
Dean, College of Environmental Design