Chancellor’s Advisory Committee on the Status of Womxn

Our Charge

The Chancellor's Advisory Committee on the Status of Womxn* (CACSW) was charged by UC Berkeley Chancellor Carol Christ in September 2018 to examine issues regarding the status of womxn in UC Berkeley’s workplace; to analyze existing policies, procedures, and/or programs that affect those issues; to propose modifications or new initiatives; to identify model programs or activities for implementation; to recommend to the chancellor changes that will to afford womxn equal and fair access to campus programs, activities, and opportunities; and to serve as a member of the UC Systemwide Advisory Committee on the Status of Womxn (SACSW) through representation of the two co-Chairs.

Accomplishments

Members of CACSW were instrumental in pushing for a UC-wide Family Paid Leave benefit. UC’s Council of Chancellors unanimously approved the recommendation, making the policy effective July 1, 2020.

CACSW is currently focused on three priority areas:

  • SVSH and Confidential Academic Resources
  • UC Women's Initiative Alumni Network and Continuous Learning
  • Leadership Position Advocacy
  • COVID Support

*CACSW represents all who experience life through the lens of womxn in body, spirit, identity.

Berkeley Chancellor's Advisory Committee on the Status of Women Member Roster FY 2020-21

Name Title Email
Anu Manchikanti Gómez, Co-Chair

Associate Professor, School of Social Welfare and Director of the Sexual Health and Reproductive Equity

Program.
anugomez@berkeley.edu
Suzanne Sutton,  Co-Chair

Senior Assistant Dean for Business Development and Operations

College of Chemistry
suttons@berkeley.edu
cici ambrosio, ex officio Director of Women's Resources, Division of Equity and Inclusion ambrosio@berkeley.edu
Abigail Azari Postdoctoral Scholar, Space Sciences Lab azari@berkeley.edu
Julianna Deardorff

Associate Professor

School of Public Health
jdeardorff@berkeley.edu

Karie Frasch

Director, Faculty Equity and Welfare

OEFW
kfrasch@berkeley.edu
Laura Kray

Professor

Haas School of Business 
kray@haas.berkeley.edu

Kate Lewis 

Associate Director

IPIRA
kate_lewis@berkeley.edu
Tiffany Melendez

Health Educator

University Health Services
tmelendez@berkeley.edu
Laura Nelson
Associate Professor and Chair
Department of Gender and Women's Studies
lcnelson@berkeley.edu
Gauthami Penakalapati Graduate Student Assembly gauthamip@berkeley.edu
Anne Marie Richard Associate CIO and Director of Student Affairs IT anne_richard@berkeley.edu

Judy Smithson

Program Manager 

Interdisciplinary, Doctor of Public Health, and Online MPH Programs

School of Public Health
jsmithson@berkeley.edu

Susan Stone

Professor

School of Social Welfare
sistone@berkeley.edu

Jasmine Taleb

Undergraduate Student

aishajasminetaleb@berkeley.edu

Contact

If you have questions, comments, or suggestions for the committee, please contact:

  • Anu Manchikanti Gomez, Committee Co-Chair
    Associate Professor, School of Social Welfare and Director of the Sexual Health and Reproductive Equity Program
    anugomez@berkeley.edu

  • Suzanne Sutton, Committee Co-Chair
    Senior Assistant Dean for Business Development and Operations, College of Chemistry
    suttons@berkeley.edu