SB 179 Committee

Our Charge

The SB 179 Committee's charge is to develop implementation plans that align the UC Berkeley campus with the spirit of the Gender Recognition Act (California Senate Bill 179), which will go into effect on January 1, 2019. The bill streamlines the process for Californians to apply to change their gender markers, and creates a nonbinary gender category (the letter “x”) on California birth certificates, drivers’ licenses, identity cards, and gender-change court orders. This law provides an opportunity for our campus to update language and policies to be more inclusive of transgender, intersex, and nonbinary members of the Berkeley community.

The committee's tasks are as follows:

  • Discuss and establish implementation plans within each of their units, including leading sub-groups in their units.
  • Elevate issues and/or make recommendations to Executive Advisory Group regarding broader campus-wide/UC/Federal policy implications that need review.
  • Establish a recommended communications plan for socializing the campus to new processes, practices, inclusive culture.
  • Reassess changes in place post-implementation

Committee Membership

Executive Advisory Group
  • Khira Griscavage, Associate Chancellor and Chief of Staff to the Chancellor
  • Marc Fisher, Vice Chancellor Administration
  • Oscar Dubon, Associate Dean for Equity and Inclusion and Student Affairs
  • Steve Sutton, Vice Chancellor of the Student Affairs Division 

SB 179 Committee Leadership
  • Billy Curtis (Co-Chair) Director, Gender Equity Resource Center, Division of Equity & Inclusion
  • Jo Mackness (Co-Chair)   Interim Assistant Vice Chancellor for Human Resources
  • Tiffany Melendez (Staff)  Health Educator, University Health Services
Full Committee Membership
Amy Barron Chung Registrar/Director of Student Services, UNEX
Ann Gilbert Associate Director, Academic Personnel
Ann Marie Richard IT: Interim Associate CIO and Director, Student Affairs Information Technology
Ben Hubbard (SIS) IT:Director of Service Design, SIS
Corinne Kosmitzki Assistant Dean Graduate Division
Dana Bache RSSP: Associate Director, Cal Housing
David Robinson Cheif Campus Counsel
Esther Gulli Executive Director, Government and Community Relations
Janet Gilmore Senior Director, Strategic Communications
Jenny Kwon Associate Chief of Staff, Chancellor’s Office
Johan Steiner Facilities Scheduling, RSF
John Scroggs Chief of Staff, VPAP
Kendra Fox-Davis Complaint Resolution Officer, OPHD
Laura Mays (VCRO-HR) Academic Personnel Coordinator, VCRO
Laurel Halsey Administrative Director, UHS
Lee Borrowman Chief Administrative and Financial Officer, Biological Sciences
Lori Tannyhill CSS- Service Director
Lyuda Kerman IT: Computer Resource Manager, IST
meckell milburn Staff Co-chair CAC-LGBTQ, Health Educator UHS
Nicolas Hernandez Sgt., UCPD
Pamela Miller Executive Director, Special Projects Office
Rachelle Regan Gift Planning Officer, UDAR
Regan Putnam Student Co-chair, CAC-LGBTQ
Ryan Cobb Associate Director of Athletics, Performance, Health & Welfare
Shannon Lee Sr. Project Analyst - Housing and Dining Services
Tommy Howard Director of Strategy & Operations, AVC Human Resources
Walter Wong University Registrar


If you have any questions, comments, or suggestions for the committee, please contact: