Board of Visitors

Berkeley at night

UC Berkeley's Board of Visitors provides advice and support to the chancellor, executive vice chancellor and provost, and campus leadership. While the UC Regents have overall fiduciary responsibility for the system’s ten campuses, much responsibility is devolved to the campus level. At Berkeley, the chancellor’s leadership is strengthened by having an impartial, external group of advisors known as the Board of Visitors. The types of activities the board engages in are: considering the opportunities and risks facing the university, advising the campus on long-term strategy, helping to shape and advance key initiatives, reviewing and consulting on Berkeley’s annual operating and capital budgets and plans, and reviewing significant capital projects. Board members also advocate for the university with donors, the public, and policymakers.  

The Board of Visitors is composed of 18 to 24 outstanding members of the UC Berkeley community. In addition, the chair of the UC Berkeley Foundation (UCBF) serves as a voting ex-officio member of the Board of Visitors throughout his or her tenure as UCBF chair.

The board currently meets three times per year. It is supported by the chancellor’s chief of staff Khira Griscavage and project director Erin McDevitt. For more information, contact

Board Membership

Barbara Bass Bakar

CEO, Barbara and Gerson Bakar Foundation; Founder and President, Achieve

San Francisco, CA

Sharon Bonner-Brown

Danville, CA

Susan C. Chamberlin (M.B.A. ‘87)

Co-founder and Director, Chamberlin Family Foundation

Richmond, CA

Peter A. Chernin (B.A. ‘73), Co-Chair 

CEO, The Chernin Group

Playa Vista, CA

Barbara J. Desoer (M.B.A. ’77)

Thousand Oaks, CA

Paul E. Jacobs (B.S. ’84, M.S. ’86, Ph.D. ’89), Co-Chair


San Diego, CA

Freada Kapor Klein

Founding Partner, Kapor Capital

Oakland, CA

James Koshland

Retired Partner, DLA Piper

Atherton, CA

Katherine S. Lau (B.A. ’88)

Hillsborough, CA

Matt Levin (B.S. '88)

Boston, MA

Janet McKinley

Founder and Principal Investor, Advance Global Capital Ltd.

San Francisco, CA

Ricardo Mora (B.A. ’88)

Partner, Goldman Sachs & Co.

New York, NY

Vanessa Morrison (B.A. ’90)

President, Fox Family

Los Angeles, CA

Barbro S. Osher

Honorary Consul General of Sweden

San Francisco, CA

Eric Schmidt (M.S. ’79, Ph.D. ’82)

Technical Advisor, Alphabet Inc.

Mountain View, CA

Nathaniel “Nat” Simons (B.A. ’89, M.A. ’95)

Co-founder, Prelude Ventures

San Francisco, CA

Larry W. Sonsini (B.A. '63, J.D. '66)

Senior and Founding Partner, Wilson Sonsini Goodrich & Rosati PC

Palo Alto, CA

Nadine Tang (M.S. W. ’75)

Berkeley, CA

Cher Wang (B.A. ’82)

Chairman, HTC Corporation

Taipei, Taiwan

Sanford "Sandy" Weill

Chairman Emeritus, Citigroup; CEO Casa Rosa Ventures

New York, NY